Aug 26, 2021, 02:17 AM
Thread OP
Question

Where to next? Want powerful, dual channel charger (1000W+ per channel)

I’ve been using my PowerLab 8v2 for five years, and it has been bullet proof charging at 40a whenever I’ve gone flying.

I had a Dual PowerLab 8 Touch on order, but obviously…that is not happening anymore.

So where do I go from here? The obvious answer is an iCharger Duo 406/4010, but after having read the entire 500 page thread on these chargers, I am not a fan. *Countless* problems and hardware failures (a large portion NOT due to PSU failures or user error/accidental reverse polarity), a messy GUI and outdated/complicated menu/interface, and iffy technical support.

Yes, there are obviously iCharger users that will have had no issues and who are happy, but the relative percentage of hardware failures is scary. There appears to be two types of iCharger Duo owners: those who have not yet had a hardware failure, and those who have.

There are also many reports of problems and failures on the new iCharger X6/X8/X12/S6 models, and I suspect it’s fair to say that Junsi’s quality control is not bulletproof.

What the iCharger Duo line does have is boatloads of power, and a fully customisable firmware like I am used to from my PowerLab 8, giving the end user full control of how their lipos are charged.

I’ve now owned an ISDT P20, a HOTA P6, and a Toolkitrc M6D. These are modern, easy to use, and have great colour screens/interfaces. However, their charging algorithms are poorly thought out compared to PowerLab/iChargers (imo), with basically no control over settings for balance behaviour, balancing precision/accuracy, or termination current. For me these are basic parameters that any balancing chargers should allow the user to change.

Where to look next for our powerful, dual channel charging needs…?
to remove ads between posts
Aug 26, 2021, 08:29 AM
Stock up on FMA units while still available.