New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 16, 2005, 01:04 AM
Find More Posts by LBMiller5
Use the Force!
Mini-HowTo

Home-Made Current Shunts for Measuring Motor Current

I have seen many threads in the past asking how to measure current for our motors. It is easy if you have a digital voltmeter that has a high current scale, unfortunately, most of the meters only have a 10 Amp scale. This works well for small CD-ROM type motors, or little 22mm to 24mm outrunners, but they cannot measure the larger currents used in the bigger motors. Plus, if you try to measure currents in the 10-12 amp range, you will probably melt the insulation off your test leads because they are not designed to handle that much current!

As an Electrical Engineer, I have needed to measure very large currents in the past. These were in the 50 - 100 Amp range on a 24 volt DC system, so using a DVM was out of the question. In the lab, we use a thing called a precision current shunt to measure high currents. Basically they are a very low ohm, very high watt resistor, that drops a specific voltage across itself for every amp of current that passes through it. They typically have ratings such as 1 millivolt per Amp or 10 millivolts per amp with a maximum amperage rating.

To use them, you simply insert one in line with the power lead and turn the equipment on. Then you take a Digital Voltmeter and measure the voltage drop across the shunt. For example, if you were using a 1 millivolt per amp shunt, and the equipment was drawing 58.6 amps of current, the shunt would read 58.6 millivolts when measured with the DVM. Pretty neat huh!

If you were using a 10 millivolt per amp current shunt in the above example, your digital meter would read 586 millivolts in the display. in this case, you simply shift the decimal point over 1 position to the left and convert your reading to 58.6 amps.