Jun 18, 2021, 12:14 PM
Thread OP
Question

Making own Flight Controller with BetaFlight/CleanFlight

Hi!

I am new to drones and I got really interested in making my own drone. First I saw the video's of Joop Brokking where he makes his own simple FlightController.
The next thing I noticed was the MultiWii. I really liked the idea of making my own drone with self made flightcontroller. I would like to solder all the sensors like gyroscope/accelerometer/magnetometer/barometer to the board. After that I wanted to add GPS functionality but I read that memory and power of an arduino would be to small so I stumbled on an STM32 board. The firmware I could use is baseflight, a 32 bit port of multiwii.

Now I noticed that baseflight is not updated anymore and there are many new flightcontroller firmwares like Betaflight, CleanFlight and many others. I saw many premade bords for this flightcontrollers, but I really want to start from scratch with just a STM32 bord.

Would That be possible? In multiwii you just can adjust the sensor ports and everything in config.h. is this also possible with those newer firmwares? How would I upload this firmware to the stm32.

Thank you for taking your time in reading this!
to remove ads between posts
Jun 18, 2021, 01:36 PM
Well, you're way behind the times. Multiwii was a decade ago; 2.4 was released 6 or so years ago. Baseflight was 6 or 7 years ago. Betaflight had been the standard for a long time.

I cannot recommend making your own. Could you get a STM32 F4 project board, and do your own thing; probably if you don't mind modifying Betaflight to do what you want. It would cost you more than a pre-made flight controller, and never work as well as one. Seriously, there is no point reinventing the wheel, at least at the level of a modern flight controller.