Jun 11, 2021, 09:19 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

Blade 230 S V2 Throttle Curve Adjust for Soft Landings

Hello All:

I’m a new helicopter pilot, and I’m teaching myself to fly. Been flying R/C airplanes for 45 years, and I’ve learned how to fly a Blade Co-Axial Heli (Blade MCX2). Just purchased a Blade 230 S v2, and I’m using a Spektrum DX6 Gen 3 radio. Downloaded the Blade 230 S v2 system setups on my TX from the Horizon website.

I did the trim flight (as recommended in the manual), and the helicopter now hovers without excessive drifting. So, I think that the trimming phase is successfully completed.

However, when throttling down for a landing, the helicopter abruptly loses lift and slams into the ground, instead of gently touching down. The result is a broken landing skid. Question: Is there a way to adjust the throttle and/or pitch curve(s) to soften the landing so that I can make a soft touchdown and stop breaking landing skids?

Here are the Throttle and Pitch curve values for the Blade 230 S v2:

Throttle Curve

Normal: 0% 25% 50% 75% 100%
Stunt 1: 85% 85% 85% 85% 85%
Stunt 2: 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Pitch Curve

Normal: 30% 40% 50% 75% 100%
Stunt 1: 0% 25% 50% 75% 100%
Stunt 2: 0% 25% 50% 75% 100%
Hold: 25% 37% 50% 75% 100%

Note: At this point I am only using the Normal values for flying my heli.

BTW, I know that airplanes take off and land into the wind. Is this the same with helicopters? Should I make sure that I’m landing upwind (as with an airplane) to prevent the heli from slamming into the ground?
to remove ads between posts
Jun 11, 2021, 03:02 PM
Using those throttle and pitch curves in your “normal” mode are indeed going to result in the Heli loosing lift quite quickly.
In your case, since you won’t be flying inverted (for now) I would program your normal mode to be something like:
Throttle: 75-75-75-75-75
Pitch: 30-45-60-75-100
This is assuming you have your throttle assigned to a “hold” switch to shut the motor.