Jun 02, 2021, 02:50 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

Boise area thermal flying

Starting a thread for flat-land flying in the Boise and Treasure Valley area.

Slope thread is here: https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...e-Slope-Flyers

With many new pilots in the area there seems to be a renewed interest in doing some flat land flying.

In particular I would like to see some folks get together for some aerotowing. I have a Telemaster currently on the bench. Should be good for up to 3m stuff.
to remove ads between posts
Jun 02, 2021, 03:06 PM
Great idea! I can fly power planes too and would love to try aerotowing someday.
Jun 02, 2021, 03:13 PM
Thread OP
My intent is to coerce everyone to try it.

We have at least one expert amongst the group now and I am willing to provide some sacrificial planes to ensure everyone has a go.

I also have a winch and high starts if we can find a grass field.
Last edited by rcsoar4fun; Jun 02, 2021 at 03:38 PM.
Jun 02, 2021, 03:39 PM
Signed on! Thanks for starting this thread!

Jason
Jun 02, 2021, 03:55 PM
I have two high starts too, one large and one small. I also recently spent way too much on an F5J plane and would love to do some informal limited run type events. I have two young boys who I'd love to get involved, if I can get them away from stupid indoor games.
Jun 02, 2021, 04:09 PM
I would love to give high start a try. When I was down in Florida, there was a good bunch of guys flying high start at Eglin Aero Modelers. I just brought out my Electric Top Model Albatros and flew and it was fun, never got an airplane together to try high start though before coming back to Meridian. Actually thought about picking up another Albatros or I have been eyeing that Gracia Maxi for flat land flying until the Ventus comes back in stock. All I have right now is my helicopters, so I would have to get something together, but that can be done fairly fast!