Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Old Nov 04, 2009, 04:25 PM
ty_horn is offline
Find More Posts by ty_horn
Philippians 4:13
yeah, I completely understand why people add cf rods and tape and everything else but I guess it depends on your flying style. If you want to do a full throttle dive and see how fast you really can make it go then you better do some reinforcing. I just don't like to add the weight because I like to float around with a light plane just as much as I like to go fast!

I agree with you on the elevons though. I don't think they are very effective even at WOT with the stock set up. My Dad was rolling while in a dive and couldn't come out of it so his Stryker hit the ground at full throttle and of course it hit the sidewalk instead of the grass :-)
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 05, 2009, 11:31 AM
johnnyrocco123 is online now
Find More Posts by johnnyrocco123
You down with EPP?
johnnyrocco123's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by ty_horn View Post
yeah, I completely understand why people add cf rods and tape and everything else but I guess it depends on your flying style. If you want to do a full throttle dive and see how fast you really can make it go then you better do some reinforcing. I just don't like to add the weight because I like to float around with a light plane just as much as I like to go fast!

I agree with you on the elevons though. I don't think they are very effective even at WOT with the stock set up. My Dad was rolling while in a dive and couldn't come out of it so his Stryker hit the ground at full throttle and of course it hit the sidewalk instead of the grass :-)
I've done that twice due to the elevons bending. Both at about 85mph.

BTW, we have radared two completely stock strykers at our club field. Out of the box theyhit 63mph on level passes.

SO getting a stryker to 120mph is crazy. I can't even get my funjet past 105mph. I only have flown 3S though I am crossing over to 4S as we speak.
Old Nov 05, 2009, 11:42 AM
ty_horn is offline
Find More Posts by ty_horn
Philippians 4:13
that is great to know... I have always wondered how fast the stock stryker really was.
Old Nov 05, 2009, 03:18 PM
danwyatt is offline
Find More Posts by danwyatt
Hi, hi, hi there!
danwyatt's Avatar
I believe you can get a Stryker into the 150-160mph range. Rumor at the flying field is that someone was clocked over 200mph (I can't find any proof of that), but here is a video of a Stryker that does 140mph! (not stock, of course )

2000 watt 140mph Parkzone Stryker (2 min 17 sec)
Last edited by danwyatt; Nov 05, 2009 at 05:09 PM. Reason: note
Old Nov 05, 2009, 04:11 PM
GryphonRCU is offline
Find More Posts by GryphonRCU
Registered User
GryphonRCU's Avatar
johnnyrocco123,

Stock Stryker with APC E 6X5.5 will hit 72 MPH on radar. I clocked my friend's F-27C. He had stock battery and ESC.

Keep eye on stock battery and use throttle control as needed.


Motor is not maxed yet, but battery is maxed, same with 25A stock ESC.
Newer 30A ESC have more room to go.

Best to replace stock battery and ESC, and add large heat sink.
Then you can play with more AMPs on 3S and 4S.
Possible to reach 90-92MPH on 4S with MOTOR AT ITS MAX AMPs with throttle control

On 3S APC Pylon 6.5X5.0 , maybe 6.5X5.5 are possible (NOT STOCK ESC or BATTERY)

Things are real risky for that stock motor at around 37A. Lots of guys burned out motors.

Read the link for stock motor on 4S, see videos too:

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=880705


Gryphon
Old Nov 05, 2009, 05:25 PM
johnnyrocco123 is online now
Find More Posts by johnnyrocco123
You down with EPP?
johnnyrocco123's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by GryphonRCU View Post
johnnyrocco123,

Stock Stryker with APC E 6X5.5 will hit 72 MPH on radar. I clocked my friend's F-27C. He had stock battery and ESC.

Keep eye on stock battery and use throttle control as needed.


Motor is not maxed yet, but battery is maxed, same with 25A stock ESC.
Newer 30A ESC have more room to go.

Best to replace stock battery and ESC, and add large heat sink.
Then you can play with more AMPs on 3S and 4S.
Possible to reach 90-92MPH on 4S with MOTOR AT ITS MAX AMPs with throttle control

On 3S APC Pylon 6.5X5.0 , maybe 6.5X5.5 are possible (NOT STOCK ESC or BATTERY)

Things are real risky for that stock motor at around 37A. Lots of guys burned out motors.

Read the link for stock motor on 4S, see videos too:

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=880705


Gryphon
Thing is, I would never pay $60 for a stock stryker motor. Why do that when you can get an ARC for the same price. The E-flite six series can take more of a beating too. I believe you could push the stock stryker to 70 with the right prop, but not with the stock 6x4 prop and stock 12C battery.
Old Nov 26, 2009, 11:09 AM
tho98027 is offline
Find More Posts by tho98027
Registered User
tho98027's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by GryphonRCU View Post
tho98027,

I got to the bottom of it after much searching of various links.

You saw:

MEGA AC 16/30/x , 16/35/x 16/40/x:
MEGA AC 16/30/1
Střídavý elektromotor pro pohon soutěžních modelů lodí v kategorii ECO EXPERT ( MEGA AC 16/30/1, lodní šroub 30 mm, vodní chlazení hliníkovou trubičkou, regulátor 66A, LIPOL 7,4V 5000 mAh)

MEGA AC 16/35/1,5
Speciální střídavý elektromotor pro pohon soutěžních modelů v kategorii F5D, na 5 LIPOL.

MEGA AC EDF 120 II
Nový střídavý elektromotor pro pohon elektrodmychadel o průměru 120 mm na 8- 12 LIPOL, 3 kW, hmotnost 515g
MEGA AC F3A 2,5Kw

______________________

The 16/40 refers to that EDF motor....should not have been called 16/40/X

I also called MEGA motor USA and there is no 16/40/X , So that mistake needs to be corrected and an e-mail regarding that has been sent.


Also on the very top line in that paragraph when you see:
"MEGA AC 16/30/x , 16/35/x 16/40/x" if you click it, it is a short cut to this link:

http://www.megamotor.cz/v3/script/de...c4884acf3e038b

Now see the top of that page....no 16/40/X

you got all of our hopes up....but at least you caught a mistake though.


16/35/2 is in testing phase though, so you let the cat out of the bag... It is 1890 KV not 1840 KV , now how did I know that? Shhhhhhhhh
The resistance of that one and 16/35/1.5 is less than advertised



Gryphon
Got an email back from Dan Matyas, owner and maker of MEGA motors. The 16/40/xx is in deed being made. It's been in testing for the last couple of months and will be available at the first of the year.
Old Jan 13, 2010, 05:28 PM
GryphonRCU is offline
Find More Posts by GryphonRCU
Registered User
GryphonRCU's Avatar
tho98027,

Are you talking about these?


Post # 953

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_88...39/key_/tm.htm


Gryphon
Old Jan 13, 2010, 06:46 PM
tho98027 is offline
Find More Posts by tho98027
Registered User
tho98027's Avatar
Wow. The motor you claim never existed. Looking forward to some test results. I'm sure it will set a new benchmark.
Last edited by tho98027; Apr 27, 2011 at 04:15 PM.
Old May 04, 2010, 12:42 AM
akkeresu is offline
Find More Posts by akkeresu
Registered User
Thanks for all of the information, y'all! I just got a used StrykerB to play around with, and I'll slowly be upgrading it as I get used to the control on this, and replace the body. I can't wait to make my own custom version. ^^
Old Mar 23, 2011, 08:18 PM
wise guy is offline
Find More Posts by wise guy
"Where are the shovels?"
wise guy's Avatar
Wow, I remember when this thread was the hottest thing in the PF forum.

Currently building yet another Stryker. Will post soon.
Old Mar 23, 2011, 08:33 PM
Prof100 is offline
Find More Posts by Prof100
Registered User
Prof100's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by wise guy View Post
Wow, I remember when this thread was the hottest thing in the PF forum.

Currently building yet another Stryker. Will post soon.
All threads eventually fade. The T28 is still going strong. I think if you really want a fast wing there are others that simply designed for high speed like the Rite Wing.

I still have late model Stryker NIB which I added some CF to that I have yet to maiden. I simply got diverted by EDFs.
Old Mar 23, 2011, 08:40 PM
wise guy is offline
Find More Posts by wise guy
"Where are the shovels?"
wise guy's Avatar
I have other planes, such as my new FJ Ultra. Stryker does have allot of wing area, and I like to buy American .


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F-27 Stryker How Far Can You Take It? Part 3 Fred Bronk Parkflyers 560 Jul 03, 2005 02:04 AM
F-27 Stryker How Far Can You Take It? Part 2 Michael Heer Parkflyers 861 Apr 10, 2005 11:02 PM
F27 Stryker...How far can you take it? ChuckD Parkflyers 536 Feb 16, 2005 07:33 PM
Corona: How far can you build, Kit only NewRotorSoon Electric Heli Talk 4 Mar 03, 2003 11:55 PM
Slow Stick on Kokams.... or how long can you take it? Tres Wright Parkflyers 20 Jan 21, 2003 10:20 AM