Mar 21, 2021, 02:59 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

Which plane for learning 3D flying ?

Have been flying RC planes for a few years now and I'm an intermediate pilot. Have flown propeller and EDF planes up to about 1.5kg weight.
Thinking about learning the basics of 3D flying and I'm looking for the best plane for that.

Preferably:
-wingspan: <=1m
-weight <=750g, even better if it's 400g or lower

The lighter planes don't get damaged when they crash, which I expect to happen in the beginning.
Also, the lighter planes are less stable and fly worse than the bigger planes.
So I'm looking for the a good trade-offs in weight between crash resistance and flight qualities.
My guess is that, with foamies, the best range is somewhere between 300-500g, but I'm open for suggestions.

Some of the models I found online in order of decreasing preference:
-HobbyKing Wargo MX2: 955mm wingspan, 650g
-FMS Edge 540: 750mm wingspan, 390g
-Hobbyking MX2: 955mm wingspan, 550g
-Volantex Saber 920: 920mm wingspan, 1100g: heavier than the others
-Multiplex ParkMaster PRO: 975mm, 520g: more expensive than the others

My first choice was HK Wargo MX2 but it's backordered.
Is the HK MX2 quite different from the Wargo MX2 ?

I'm open to any other suggestion.
Any advice ?
to remove ads between posts
Mar 21, 2021, 03:31 PM
Team Twisted!
Twisted Hobbys Laser lite is a great Airplane to learn 3d and still one of my favorites to fly. Two cell 350 to 450 mah batteries too.

https://twistedhobbys.com/th-32-epp-...aser-lite-red/
Mar 21, 2021, 03:33 PM
pull up -- PULL UP!!!
Twisted Hobby -- your choice of 32" Standard series. These the least likely to suffer much damage in early crashes.

Then graduate to one of the 39" TH airfoil planes like their V3 Edge.

From there dunno -- haven't gotten there yet.

And a good sim can save you a lot of glue and tape.
Mar 21, 2021, 05:08 PM
"Sport 3Der For Life"
Quote:
Originally Posted by hard line