Mar 19, 2021, 07:42 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

Why so little love for IMAC?

I'm new/old to the forum and hobby in general. I have 23 years of experience in the hobby, but am fresh off a 20-year break

So I own 48" EF Edge and a 60" EF Laser and decided I want to give IMAC a try this year. I know my Laser will probably be the smallest plane there but that's OK, I'm just going to learn. I went ahead and entered Sportsman because I don't want to be the 1 person in Basic and the maneuvers are more challenging.

I am surprised, however, at how unpopular IMAC seems to be. I signed up for one contest near me and there are like 11 people registered, and it seems to be the same small group of guys who always do it all over the Northeast where I live. There is no dedicated IMAC forum topic here, yet the pattern forum is very active, and the forums over at Flyinggiants and the IMAC official website are pretty much dead. Same goes for the IMAC FB groups. Seems like pattern is a much more active community, at least in terms of finding info online. Most people at my local club have never even heard of IMAC, but everyone seems to have heard of pattern.

I am wondering why that is. It does seem like just about everyone in IMAC is flying a $3000+ plane, which is kind of a big barrier to entry. Pattern has a size limit, which is some way keeps it from becoming an arm's race of who buys the biggest plane. But I just think the scale aerobatic planes are sooooo much sexier. Pattern planes just look so cartoonish to me, even though they fly beautifully.

I am wondering if IMAC is considering creating rules about size - not limiting size, but maybe creating size classes by wingspan or something? IE have a 60" and under class, a 61"-85", an 86-105", and a 106"+ class or something? Kind of like weight classes in boxing.

If I am wrong and IMAC is indeed vibrant and thriving and I am just looking in the wrong place, please disregard. I just wanted to get a discussion started.