Mar 07, 2021, 03:39 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

RC Plane landing.

This discussion is about landing your RC plane. It is probably the hardest thing you'll do assuming you have not flown on a windy day only to let your plane blow away because you do not have the skill to fly the plane back to the field. This is where a instructor comes in very handy. If you've never flown before, you need an instructor or at the very least a simulator where you can get some feel for flight experience. There are many things to know and RC groups has just about every subject for RC hobbies.

I have 26 planes.
The planes vary in size, type and weight.
I have flown many aircraft for other people and I have a lot of experience on all types of aircraft.
The most difficult part of landing just about any plane is space speed and obstacles along with getting used to using a low rate where the plane will be easier to control at alower landing speed at a lower rate on the controls and using expo or exponential as much as possible to compensate for the human hands unsteady movement and a nervous hand that may over-react.

There are trainers that are designed for beginners, but you probably want to go to a flying field and just watch what's going on and talk to some of the pilots.

The most common trainers would be those planes like The apprentice or mini apprentice and others that have three modes of beginner intermediate and experienced mode.
The lesser expensive aircraft would be probably micro and mini size aircraft that can handle crashes better than the apprentices.
If you're really on a shoestring budget and mechanically inclined, you can check out some of the scratch built trainers.
My advice is to start small and it is low cost as you can. Don't be tempted to get something nice and fancy because it won't be nice and fancy after the first time you go to fly it due to a crash.