Jan 10, 2021, 09:36 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

Fred Weaver

Im so sorry to report that Fred passed. Anyone who has been flying sailplanes in California for a few decades knew him. Smart and funny describe him for me. And one TOUGH competition pilot. See you on the other side Fred. Blue skies.
Latest blog entry: Testing the blog page
to remove ads between posts
Jan 11, 2021, 12:46 AM
Sorry to hear that.
Fred shared some information with me about the Airtronics Cumic,
Jan 11, 2021, 02:19 AM
Old gasbag glider guy...
Fred was the best. RIP my friend.
Jan 11, 2021, 07:52 AM
Mark LSF # 3792
Sorry to hear that. Flew with "The Weave" many a time when he came to Texas.
Jan 11, 2021, 09:07 AM
Dark Side of the Red Merle
I met Fred in the mid 90's when I was a newbie soaring pilot. He treated me as if we'd been friends for years. We had lots of lapses in our conversations but recently we had been exchanging phone calls and talking about F5J. As the master he is with flying he excelled there too!
RIP my Friend
Fred LSF Level V, the third one to achieve that great distinction!

Curtis
Jan 11, 2021, 10:27 AM
High Lift Coefficient
So sorry to hear that. Used to see him in the NCSL circuits back in the day.
Jan 11, 2021, 10:48 AM
This is very sad news. He was a great pilot and fun to hang out with. He had great stories too and just about everyone knew him. We met at thermal soaring contests however he would reminisce about slope soaring days and MoM racing. Great guy. Soar high Fred, RIP.
Jan 11, 2021, 12:19 PM
Sad news indeed.

Tom
Jan 11, 2021, 02:35 PM
over it
Man! what a bummer..such a fun guy and a great pilot! Soaring with the angels now.

Still have a pike perfect i got from Fred some years ago..

Rest in Peace Weave. See you on the other side...
Jan 11, 2021, 07:44 PM
Glider Geek!