Jun 07, 2005, 08:49 AM
LJH
LJH
Moths do not fly inverted
Thread OP

.40 Size Trainer on a Brushed Astro 05?

My Brother has a Generic .40 size trainer , I believe the Tower Hobbies one, and we would like to electrify it. I have an old brushed geared Astro 05. The motor I have does not have any designations on it as to what turn 05 it is but the previous owner has it marked with a 7. I just counted the teeth on the straight cut gears and it looks it is 2.21:1. Wondering if you guy think this will work OK. I have both 10 and 12 cells CP2400 packs that I am planning on useing. Looking at the Astro web site they show a 7 turn 05 but with 2.4:1 box on it and they are showing somewhere over 400W with a 12X8 which I would think could flying this plane OK. I have done a bit of research here and all indicators seem to show this will work OK but I have very little experience with the Astro 05 so looking for some guidence here.

Cheers,
Jim
to remove ads between posts
Jun 07, 2005, 09:06 AM
Suspended Account
I say go for it. Should work fine. I have a Great Planes cub (76" w/s) with an old astro cobalt 15 on it, geared 2.6:1, spinning a 13x10. Works great. Of course I built it, and left out quite a bit of unneeded ply to lighten it, but the setup your talking about should be fine.
Jun 07, 2005, 09:35 AM
Visitor from Reality
Jim
I've run an Astro 035 G on 10 cells for around 6 or 7 years with no ill effects, in sports aerobatic models. Motor's still on its original brushes too.

The amp limit for these motors - the 05 and 035 - is 30A. I allowed a full power, fresh pack setting of 31 - 32A but nothing more. However, I was using a 3.7:1 ratio box - the "Superbox" with the 'standard' box 13T pinion.