Dec 31, 2020, 11:00 AM
Dr. Nick Musco, Md.
Thread OP
Discussion

Building my first 550 heli....need suggestions

I've been flying rtf helis for a while now collective pitch included. I have a blade 230s that I fly nearly every day and I practice on real flight 9.5 a few hours a day. I noticed the larger birds fly much better than the smaller on the sim so decided to build one. My dad had a new old stock century swift 550 that I decided to put together. I have the motor and esc for it I just need suggestions on servos (swash and tail) and gyro/fbl units. I'm new to building helis but not new to the hobby at all. Have planes, cars, boats, and rtf/bnf helis, and fpv drones. I've just read so many reviews on so many servos and have no clue which to go with. I've heard buy the best servos you can afford with helicopters but would like to try some best bang for your buck servos if there are any with a good combo of speed and torque for swash. Was looking at a set of mks servos for $370 but don't know anything about them.

Now this helicopter does have a flybar but I plan to convert it to fbl when I tear this one up. So I'm looking for a fbl head that will fit a 10mm shaft also. Please and thanks for any help or pointers given.
to remove ads between posts
Jan 30, 2021, 09:23 AM
MKS make good servos, but you shouldn't need to lay out that much. There are lots of decent servos for a lot less.

You might start by considering the voltage you'll run them at. Your ESC might have a BEC with a fixed 5v output, or it might give you the option to select a higher voltage, 6v or 7.2v, 8.4v even. You might use a separate BEC to give you those options, or even a 2s RX battery, either LiFe for 6.6v or LiPo for 8.4v.

Higher voltage servos tend to be faster or higher torque for the same speed.