Oct 29, 2020, 08:44 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

Introductory post

I've been lurking here for a few years and decided to finally join. I've been flying R/C since 1983 with about a ten-year layoff from 2000 to about 2010 when I finally got back into it after retiring and moving to West Virginia from the Washington, D.C. area. What got me back into it was discovering the UMX models that Horizon Hobby was offering and I bought a Sport Cub S as a reintroduction to R/C since I hadn't flown R/C for 10 years. Back when I was active I'd flown some pattern but I'm not a fan of attending contests so never competed. There aren't a lot of flying sites around here and the UMX planes got my interest because there is enough room to fly those in the back yard.

Another learning curve to climb was that new-fangled (to me) computer radio. They had just started to become popular when I stopped flying earlier and the thought of being able to set so many options from the transmitter was intriguing. Of particular interest was the ability to store model setups and change airplanes without having to buy a new radio for every airplane. I knew some guys who did that but my modeling budget didn't allow that. The most transmitters I ever had was three. So I ended up buying a Spektrum DX9 and probably spent a month studying the manual and looking up stuff online about how to use this new radio. When I told my wife that it would store configurations for 250 models she said "Don't even think about it!" I think she had visions of model airplanes stacked to the ceiling in the basement. Kinda sounds like something to aspire to for me. Maybe if I can sneak them in gradually, one or two at a time over years she won't notice....