Oct 24, 2020, 05:18 AM
Thread OP
Help!

from gas to electric Pietenpol air camper

I am finishing a build on a Pietenpol air camper. The model came designed to have a 40 gas engine. I want to install a G46 electric motor and related equipment. The G 46 is about 1" shorter than the electric motor and so the firewall placement is to far to the rear for the propeller to clear the nose of the plane. My thoughts were to move the firewall forward for clearance or to use standoffs as described by my hobby shop. Which is the best solution? Thanks for any help. I am new to this and only built models that hang from the ceiling.
to remove ads between posts
Oct 24, 2020, 05:40 AM
Moving the firewall would probably be the hardest option and quite unnecessary when there are several ways to get the motor forward where you need it.

Stand-offs are usually pretty easy, but if it's only about 1", even a relatively crude solution like putting a block of wood the right thickness on the front of the firewall might work for you. Or if you need a bit of nose weight, stacked steel nuts could substitute for aluminium or nylon standoffs.

Google image searches on RC motor standoffs and rc motor mounting will give you some ideas.
Oct 24, 2020, 06:00 AM
Many like to make a box to extend the firewall forward.

BMatthews recently posted a rough illustration in a balsa builders thread:
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...5&postcount=50
Oct 24, 2020, 11:40 AM
B for Bruce
Looking at some test specs for the motor at Hobbyking I see that even on a 4S setup the motor can run at 740 watts pretty easily . Depending on the size and somewhat anticipated weight for the model the G46 might easily end up being way more motor than you need for scale like flying. .

What's the size of your Piet' and do you have any idea at this point of what it'll come out at for weight?
Oct 24, 2020, 04:38 PM
Thread OP