Oct 09, 2020, 09:40 AM
Thread OP
Build Log

A Trumpeter Bismarck 1/200

A Trumpeter Bismark 1/200

Introduction

I have long had an interest in the Bismarck as a great example of German engineering and decided to build an RC model using the Trumpeter 1/200 kit. I read up as many posts as I could find and in particular was inspired by “capricorn” with his Arduino control of turrets as well as other aspects.
The wealth of experience in this group and elsewhere gave me the confidence to proceed, this being the first powered RC model I have built.
By way of background I am a retired mechanical engineer whose hobbies include scale model engines and the restoration of old cars. I am fortunate to have a basement workshop with a lathe and mill as well as electronic tools that make me fairly self sufficient.
This build log starts by reporting on the various choices I made for the machinery, based heavily on all the experience that I have read about and then with my own spin on it. I am always interested in analyzing the physics of my models so you will see this in my comments below.
The first object is to get the ship powered and working, then build the superstructure, then work on the turret mechanisms.
I expect to use upgrade kit(s) with brass fittings to make a more robust model than the original kit and I will be seeking advice in due course on the best way to do this.
To date the vessel hull has been tested in a swimming pool and runs fine with lots of power. The turning circle going forward is quite large and in reverse, the rudders are ineffective.

MODEL SPEED
The maximum model speed should I suppose lie somewhere between the linear scale speed and the percentage of hull speed at full scale. Running the model at the same percentage of hull speed will give the same wave pattern as the full scale. The full scale speed is 30Kts (50ft/sec) which is about 80% of hull speed. 80% of model hull speed is 3.6 ft/sec so this will be the upper speed limit and design goal.