This thread is privately moderated by turboparker, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Sep 24, 2020, 02:53 PM
I'd rather be flying!
Thread OP
Mini-Review

Eflite 2.1m Carbon-Z Cub SS

Finally able to do the review on Eflite's 2.1m Carbon-Z Cub SS!

Decided to not do an unboxing/assembly review, as there are plenty of those already - plus this plane is straightforward to assemble for those in the target experience range.

This is my first giant-scale electric. My other giant-scale planes have been balsa/ply, and were either glow or gas powered. I have over 30 yrs of fixed-wing RC experience.

Equipment used:
  • Spektrum DX9 Black Edition
  • Spektrum 6s 5000mAh 30C Smartpack
  • Spektrum S1200 Smartcharger

Assembly:

Assembly took me ~1.5 hours. Everything went together well - except a few parts bags were mislabeled. Was fairly easy to figure out what was what.

Binding/initialization/balancing & trimming:

I bound the plane with SAFE disabled. Had to raise the tail to approximately level before it would initialize, though. All surfaces centered-out well when I checked everything out. Spooled her up to check the prop balance, and everything was good - so no prop balancing required on mine.

I ended-up mechanically maxing the rudder throw, and still wanted more rudder authority. I heard that if you bind with SAFE Select, there's a lot more rudder throw available in AS3X-only mode - so, I'm going to rebind & just leave SAFE Select disabled to see if I can get more rudder throw.

I needed to mount the Spektrum 6s 5000mAh 30C pack at the rearmost position in the battery compartment to get the CG back to 120mm aft from the LE at the wing-root. I found the battery tray to be convenient.

Transport/field assembly: