Sep 19, 2020, 02:45 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

Curious case of my DX7 G1 blak edition

Hello everyone,
I am competely new and signing up at this forum is quite a 'last resort'.
Most of all I hope AndyKlunz will pitch in.
I have been flying and modeling for more than 30 years and studied and learned quite a lot along the way.

Yes, unfortunately it is a story about a failing radio. I own several radio's by the same brand and have for the past 12 years. I have never ever experienced something like the following.
I have a second hand DX7 G1 black edition. It came with stories of being unreliable en having caused many crashes and loss of aircraft. This was backed up by quite a few clubmembers who where first hand witnesses. The TX had been to a repair center already and the RF deck had been replaced. History showed it did not remedy the problem.
I could not accept that the TX could be the culprit. I used the TX as a my sim TX (I have several more: A DX8 Silver edition - 10+ years old, and recently I bought a new DX8 G2 Blak Edition because of the problems with the DX7, story to follow....).
This summer I was assigned a student. I decided to use the DX7 as it has the wireless trainer option.
I used a the club trainer: Multiplex FunCub, it was fitted with not too bad gear. Turnigy PLUSH ESC with more than capable Amps, Turnigy motor, differten servo's 9gr. And a genuine Spektrum receiver.
All proceded well, binding en binding to the students DX6 G2. The second flight at a mere 150meters out at 40 meters high, there was a full hold and the signal did not recover. Repaired the FunCub and replaced the motor and the ESC and the receiver. A second crash followed and a third and a fourth...
All within distances at no more than 150 meters and 30 to 60 meters high.