Sep 09, 2020, 07:00 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

New to this RC Hobby - Regarding Massachusetts laws

Hi All,

I am very new to this hobby and I would like to buy a 800mm wing or a med sized plane but regarding laws?? I am from Massachusetts are there any laws regarding flying a plane over that 250g weight? What are some of the typical laws I should be aware of? I did do a quick search here and got a little overwhelmed. If anyone can give a little guidance about this I would appreciate it. Looking at the basic 2.4gHz receiver and maybe going into FPV but not right away.

Thank You
to remove ads between posts
Sep 09, 2020, 07:13 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by _ Rob _
Hi All,

I am very new to this hobby and I would like to buy a 800mm wing or a med sized plane but regarding laws?? I am from Massachusetts are there any laws regarding flying a plane over that 250g weight? What are some of the typical laws I should be aware of? I did do a quick search here and got a little overwhelmed. If anyone can give a little guidance about this I would appreciate it. Looking at the basic 2.4gHz receiver and maybe going into FPV but not right away.

Thank You
welcome!
i am a newbie as well. from what i understand, if you're over the limit, you need an ama license. as far as laws are concerned, the first thing is that you need permission to fly anywhere but your own property.
and you can't fly near airports.
if you can find a local club, that's the best thing.

i have been trying to teach myself with a 500mm sport cub with gyro. very easy in beginner mode, not too bad in intermediate after some practice, and impossible in advanced mode (no gyro)

you might want to consider something like the mini apprentice.
Sep 09, 2020, 07:51 PM
Thread OP
Thank You!