This thread is privately moderated by hobiepilot, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Mar 28, 2020, 01:26 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

Just some background FYI...

For those who have asked about my previous day job (and nights, and weekends..), the short answer is Electronics. A slightly longer answer: A little bit of everything. And as to some of the details?:

From age 13 I was tinkering with Electronic Experimenter kits, then put together my first RC Tx and Rx kits at 15.. and other related gizmos thru HS. Joining the Army for 4 years in 1970 (yeah, just shoot me..), I got a year of good electronics school in the ASA at Devens. Theory thru transmitters, receivers, antenna systems, and specifically DF, ECM, and even worked avionics during half of my year in Vietnam. When I got out, I worked as a Field Engineer repairing and installing information systems (1st Electronic Store Information System in Indiana).. then the 1st Automated Teller terminals in Indiana. Got my 2nd class FCC and started a company to do CB repairs, followed by 2-way, and another 2 years of avionics, and some cool High-Energy Physics work at Fermi-Lab. I worked at the 2nd oldest PC store in the US, where we stuffed and soldered the components, and repaired VERY EARLY personal computers. One of mine so advanced to have a 5MB hard drive!! (Yeah, I know, funny huh!) In 1982 I started my consulting business, and designed a full duplex S-100 communication board, to link my customer as the 1st to use direct computer billing to Blue Cross/Blue Shield. Helped another company sell millions in stock, with my 6 prototype battery powered CMOS smart terminals with LCD display, keypad, thermal printer, real time clock, modem and SKU code order storage, for direct grocery order placement. They opted to invest it differently, so no, I'm not a Steven Jobs look alike. Of the two photos below, both were industrial controllers. The first one, a temperature and machine controller, for injection molding industry.