This thread is privately moderated by skeeter honey, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Mar 07, 2020, 09:33 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

Sky Angel A-6 Intruder PNP-ish EDF jet

Nothing like RC aviation to remind us just how much of a novice we really are. After becoming comfortable with a number of cheap, beginner friendly planes, I started to build some kits. Although my success with them has been limited, it usually is because I haven't mastered tuning, or I miss the mark in planning the build in a weight/CG kind of way.

But after a string of successes, and many threads' and videos' worth of influence, I decided to see what the EDF jet thing was all about. Sure, I'm a beginner, but it isn't THAT hard, is it?

So I scoured the internet for a cheap EDF jet kit to try out, hitting the usual suspects for such things. I almost got the Value Hobby F-4 Phantom II kit, but realized I needed a more conventional wing style for my first jet. I'm not that great at programming (mixing, starting off right on rates, trim), which steered me to the Sky Angel A-6 intruder. A few clicks and a few bucks to Porcupine RC, and I was ready to dip my toes in the water.

While I waited out the dozen or so days for it to arrive from the land of COVID-19, I read everything I could about it. It didn't take long to realize that maybe I'd bitten off a bit too much for my first EDF plane. There are few videos out there, and most are crashes. Of the threads out there, I read a lot of complaints, particularly as it related to the pre-installed fan. To remedy this, I ordered an FMS 50mm EDF from Banggood along with a 1000 mAh 35c battery.

Once everything arrived, I put the plane together, rather impressed at the fit and durability of this particular foam. The control horns, rods, and clevises (clevi?) are particularly nice. I then swapped out the EDF, exchanged the included Hornet 30A ESC with a Hornet 40A ESC, and dropped in a LemonRx Stab Plus receiver.