Mar 01, 2020, 08:27 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

Battery alert on TinyHawk without goggles??

Hello everyone, great beginner here. I just bought a TinyHawk (1st version, not S) in the kit with goggles. I am first trying to learn to fly it line-of-sight, but I have a naive question: how do I know when to land the drone, to avoid damaging the battery? In the goggles there is a low voltage indicator, but how do you know when to land when you dont wear the goggles? Just using a timer set to 3:30 minutes? Thanks for your knowledge and experience, it is probably a silly question, but I really dont have any idea currently :-)
to remove ads between posts
Mar 01, 2020, 08:36 PM
If it flies, I can crash it.
You need to learn about BetaFlight Configurator. This will let you see what the quad's low-voltage threshold is set to. It's probably around 3.4V/cell by default. If so, you can just keep flying until the quad lands itself. If not, set it to 3.4V and then just keep flying until the quad lands itself.

You may be able to add a buzzer or an LED to the quad to alert you to low voltage, but you'll have to read up on the TinyHawk flight controller to see if it supports one of these options.
Mar 01, 2020, 08:41 PM
Thread OP
Thank you rocketsled666! I will learn how to configure Betaflight then. My background is in computer science, so that part at least should be easier than piloting :-D I am not a native english speaker btw, so please accept my apologies for my mistakes.
Mar 01, 2020, 08:56 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilentHawk
Thank you rocketsled666! I will learn how to configure Betaflight then. My background is in computer science, so that part at least should be easier than piloting :-D I am not a native english speaker btw, so please accept my apologies for my mistakes.
I'd also recommend flashing jesc 48khz firmware to the esc for an additional :30-1:00 extra flight times
Mar 01, 2020, 09:10 PM
Thread OP