Feb 20, 2020, 07:28 PM
Thread OP
Alert

new member hopefully

Hi all.
I have been building model kits, of many types, off and on, since around 1973. they were all plastic until 2012 when I got my first wooden ship kit. It took 18 months to build in my spare time with a few pauses. My next was another wooden ship kit which took 2 1/2 years to complete. I returned to plastic kits last year but was not happy with the results and realized that wood kits are better, as, if you make a mistake you can just cut another piece to fix it. Virtually impossible with plastic. I have just bought the plans for a 1/23 scale line control DH Mosquito which I want to convert to R/C. As this is a completely new venture I thought I'd join a site where I can get help and maybe, along the way, help others too. Building this will be a challenge but am sure I can do it. The R/C side of things I have no knowledge of which is where I will really need help. Especially with the electric motors and propeller sizes along with incorporating control and power pack housings. I have wanted to build a wooden Mossie for at least 20 years and finally have the chance to do it.
to remove ads between posts
Feb 20, 2020, 10:44 PM
Hello! And welcome to the power side of things!!
My current woody has taken just about 2.5 yrs so far! But its so satisfying to build in wood isn't it!!!

Under the assumption that you have never flown i would get yourself a trainer type aircraft and a sim to help you learn the ropes.

As far as you posted concerns, here are a few links to get you started!
Balsa builders;
https://www.rcgroups.com/balsa-builders-807/

General eletric airplanes;
https://www.rcgroups.com/aircraft-electric-airplanes-4/

Good luck and have fun!!
-matt
Feb 21, 2020, 07:20 PM
Thread OP