This thread is privately moderated by OBXGyrene, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Feb 18, 2020, 02:03 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

First Plane: E-flite PT-17, 1100mm

I'm new to the world of radio control aviation. I've been wanting to get into this hobby since I was a kid the 1970s, however due to the cost, raising a family, and my duties a a Marine, I had to put it off. With the advent of the age of low-cost computer technology and the use of foam for model kits, RC aviation is now both affordable and much easier than it was in the past.

In October, I purchased and built my first model, and E-flite PT-17. Actually, since it has Navy markings it is technically an N2S. I was really impressed with this kit, and with the assistance of Monofoil Man, I was able to detail the aircraft with authentic decals, rigging, and many other scale details. I also joined the AMA and our local flying club, the Dare County RC Flyers.
Last edited by OBXGyrene; Sep 15, 2020 at 08:22 PM. Reason: Punctuation
to remove ads between posts
Feb 18, 2020, 03:47 PM
Modeler from 60's, 70's, 80's
VERY nice looking! Is this your first R/C model?
Feb 18, 2020, 05:34 PM
Thread OP

First plane

Yes Lee, this was the first RC plane I built . Began construction at the end of October. I've got a few more details to add, such as the centripetal starter and the javelins that separate the wing rigging wires. Added a few photos, if you are interested.
Feb 18, 2020, 06:39 PM
You are an excellent modeler
Feb 18, 2020, 07:18 PM
There is a problem with R/C and you may be aware. Eventually we crash. I would be really hurt if I crashed your PT-17. I am thinking of dividing my hobby into planes that are quick to the field and I fly a LOT and planes that are slow to the field and that I only fly a few times
Last edited by lee taylor; Feb 25, 2020 at 07:50 AM.
Feb 24, 2020, 07:33 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by OBXGyrene View Post