This thread is privately moderated by SavageX89, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Feb 14, 2020, 09:55 AM
Design Engineer
Thread OP
Mini-Review

FrSky Equipment and Aloft Hobbies Reviews

FrSky Taranis X9D + 2019 SE

I've been flying Spektrum for a few years now, ever since I started in the hobby, and I've always appreciated how easy it was to set up a model and get in the air with their radios, but I always felt like something was lacking. The cost, the lack of customization, and lack of features left me wanting more. Sadly, the only way to get even a portion of this with Spektrum was to go with one of their radios that cost $400+. Enter FrSky!

For a minimum of $100 with the X-lite or Qx7, or the choice here for $257, you get more options, customizability, features, and control than you could ever dream of with any spektrum radio! The price point and the power of the Taranis make the switch a no-brainer. I haven't flown yet due to weather, but I've got my first model set up, as well as the model for flying on Phoenix RC simulator and couldn't be happier.

The set up of a model is quick and easy for a simple (no expo or D/R) is quick and easy. You'll be flying in moments. When you decide to really get into all the features, the power of this radio really shines. In 20 minutes, I had my model set up with flaperons, triple rates with expo on each, motor disable switch, and voices to call out each when the switch is moved.

I can take any input or output, control exactly how I want it to behave, and assign it to any switch, slider, pot, button, or stick that I want. No longer am I stuck having my flaps on one specific switch, or the dual/triple rates broken out into 3 different switches when I'd rather they all be on one.