Thread Tools
Mar 28, 2005, 04:03 PM
Registered User
Thread OP

Post your EasyStar AP set-up PICS


If you use Easystar for AP please post pics of plane to help others that need ideas for mounting cameras. Thanks
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Mar 29, 2005, 08:19 AM
Registered User
Thread OP
Anyone ? Anyone ?
Mar 29, 2005, 08:28 AM
I break cameras
sweatyfingers's Avatar
OK

its been posted before in this forum but I will show my ugly Easystar. I have nosed in so many times (I learned to rc on this ez) I had to cut the fuse and bend it down filling it with a wedge of foam to straighten it.

EZ AP weighs in at 33.5 ounces

second shot is most recent look at the nose.

Stock Motor
Futaba 127 rxDF
Great Planes ESC
8 cell 1050 kans
Nikon 3700 servo double stick taped and rubberbanded to camera.
Last edited by sweatyfingers; Apr 23, 2005 at 08:13 AM.
Mar 29, 2005, 08:50 AM
Registered User
Thread OP
How hard was it to get CG right? Does the 3700 make the plane heavy on the right side where it is mounted? I am going to try these same set-up because it looks like you have had some success, whats your thoughts. Thanks for the reply.
Mar 29, 2005, 11:02 AM
I break cameras
sweatyfingers's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcdishman
How hard was it to get CG right? Does the 3700 make the plane heavy on the right side where it is mounted? I am going to try these same set-up because it looks like you have had some success, whats your thoughts. Thanks for the reply.
I cut out the fuse under the wing and found it hollow enough to hold an off set brick of 2/3 AA Kans. I slide the brick around to adjust the CG. Pretty simple. The camera is off the center line of the fuse but doesn't bother the flying. I have added a quater (Canadian) to the opposite wing but it did not change the handling.

I like the porthole because I can screw in a filter to protect the camera from mud and snow landings. When not an issue, I take it off.

Good luck with your EZ
Mar 30, 2005, 01:57 AM
Registered User
Alex Talsma's Avatar

ez


This is how I use the EZ* as a AP platform: http://www.alextalsma.nl/Easystar/
Mar 30, 2005, 10:47 PM

Curious


Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex Talsma
This is how I use the EZ* as a AP platform: http://www.alextalsma.nl/Easystar/
I noticed how you mounted the servos in the fin and rudder instead of the usual location. Two questions:
1. Was this to compensate for the cmera weight in front of the CG?
2. How does it work?

Thanks,
Peter
Mar 31, 2005, 12:23 AM
Registered User
Alex Talsma's Avatar
Hi Peter,

I move the rudder and fin servo to this unusual position for 3 reasons:

1) to compensate the camera weight
2) for a more smooth control of rudder and fin
3) but most of all I wanted to make space for:
a) my RX that is positioned in the first compartement under the wing (I made a small hole on the left side that I cover up with foam.
b) on the rightside under CG/WING I can optionally place my video TX.

Further I've noticed that my EZ* flies best when CG is 0,5 centimeter backwards from where MPX says it should be.

The plane flies great! The servo modification works very good for me.

Have fun!
Alex
Mar 31, 2005, 12:51 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex Talsma
Hi Peter,

I move the rudder and fin servo to this unusual position for 3 reasons:

1) to compensate the camera weight
2) for a more smooth control of rudder and fin
3) but most of all I wanted to make space for:
a) my RX that is positioned in the first compartement under the wing (I made a small hole on the left side that I cover up with foam.
b) on the rightside under CG/WING I can optionally place my video TX.

Further I've noticed that my EZ* flies best when CG is 0,5 centimeter backwards from where MPX says it should be.

The plane flies great! The servo modification works very good for me.

Have fun!
Alex
Thanks for the info ... I'm impressed!
So, you cut out the foam under the wing to extend the compartment, right?

Peter
Mar 31, 2005, 12:55 AM

FMA Co-pilot?


I'm going to jump into this AP!
I loved EZ*#1, and EZ*#2 is finally out of the box!
I've been reading a lot of posts in other threads and noticed how a lot of folks use the FMA Co-pilot. How does the EZ-AP gand feel about this? Anyone using it? Any thoughts?

Thanks,
Peter
Mar 31, 2005, 01:31 AM
Registered User
Alex Talsma's Avatar
I cut out a square piece of foam so small my receiver (Schulze 835) fits right thru it. From a spare piece of foam (from a computer box) I stiff this square.

I think the FMA copilot would be great on the EZ! But I've never tried it myself.
Apr 21, 2005, 01:53 PM
I break cameras
sweatyfingers's Avatar
Seems like all the easystar pilots are out flying and not typing.

ANy other EZ AP setups out there?

I am putting the parts together for EZ AP #2 Brushless.



David
Apr 21, 2005, 10:57 PM
Registered User
RCFEVER's Avatar
Alex,

I really like how you mounted the servos. Nice build, Very clean!

Matt
Apr 21, 2005, 11:20 PM
I didn´t want to cut up my Easystar and wanted the camera to be able to ´look´ left and right, depending on the winds and subject. This is why I thought I´d replace the canopy. It doesn´t look smooth, but flies and functions very well.
Apr 21, 2005, 11:39 PM
Registered User
RCFEVER's Avatar
What are the AUWs on these setups? Just curious what the difference is between these and a loaded down SS.

Matt


Quick Reply
Message:

Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Data Post your Katana Mini set-up Vitter 3D Flying 28 Oct 20, 2006 06:18 PM
Cool Post pics of your X-400 set up. Tophinater Mini Helis 11 Jan 11, 2006 10:34 AM
What would your ultimate ES AP set up be? Canada Goose Aerial Photography 17 Oct 14, 2005 03:02 PM
Post your Lil' Screamer set-up Ohm Power Systems 0 Mar 01, 2005 09:18 PM
Idea Post your Micro-BL set-up! AirMicro Micro Helis 12 Nov 11, 2003 07:08 PM