Jan 18, 2020, 01:54 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

Please help an old-schooler Need advice on what to buy

Hi folks,
This is my first post here. I'm in need of some advice.

I want to buy an RC truck for my 6 year old child who already flies a drone around the inside of our home. I am in my 50's but when I was young, I grew up building RC stuff.. even designed some of my own. I used to have boats, and RC10, gliders, stunt planes, and even a couple of helicopters including one of the first Crickets to come out.

Problem is, I'm not into the hobby anymore but I do want to purchase a ready made car/truck for my child. We live out in the countryside on a small hobby farm type of property.. nothing paved around here except a small pad in front of the garage, so I need something that does well in the grass and on a stone driveway.

I'm a lithium-ion battery expert, in fact, I have a solar system that charges 30kW worth of batteries I pulled from crashed Chevy Volt's and I have more 18650's than I know what to do with, so with that in mind, I'd like to find something that uses lithium batteries. ..

I'm looking for a ready-made vehicle. 4 wheel drive would be nice but not required, and something that can possibly keep up with a dog.. just for the fun of it. I'm not opposed to purchasing something in good used condition either.

What should I look for and what should I stay away from? My knowledge of what's good these days is absolutely zero.. In my RC years, if it wasn't made by Futaba, you didn't buy it.

Also, I want to spend $100 to $150 or so.. not looking for an $800 rocket ship on wheels, and used is fine.

Thank you from Michigan.
to remove ads between posts
Jan 18, 2020, 08:52 PM
For a young kid, there is nothing better than a Traxxas. Super durable and parts are very easy to find. Avoid the non main stream cars as parts are hard to find and they aren't much cheaper.
Jan 18, 2020, 09:55 PM
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by yakky