Jan 10, 2020, 12:36 PM
Knot Obsessed
Thread OP
Build Log

Woodies: 1950 Chris Craft Catalina Build – Semi Scratch

Hello, I joined a while back but this is my first post.

Background:

I have built some plastic models in the past but this is my first attempt to build a wood model.
As a child, I remember seeing a wood scale model of Chris Craft cruiser on display in a shoe store and found it fascinating. Even then, I thought of it as representing an almost by-gone era in terms of boating design and model building. A while back I was on Ebay and stumbled across an unbuilt Sterling Chris Craft Catalina kit that had just been listed and for a reasonable price. I thought it would be a great winter project so I hit the “Buy It Now”.

I am now over 3/4th of the way to completion and I am pretty satisfied with the results but I’ll let you be the judge. Since this is an all new learning experience, I welcome any advice you may have. I have already discovered many things that I will do differently going forward and other things turned out good.

I originally wanted to build this for R/C with a full interior. As I progressed, I realized because of the smaller scale, I would be better off to give up one or the other. Since this is my first attempt, I decided to build this model for display with a full interior and R/C lights only. I didn’t what to sacrifice the interior on this model for a power setup. I am already planning my next build which will be R/C and scratch built from Chris Craft plans/Mariners' Museum. I have already purchased some of the hardware from Mack Products and designed the model in CAD.

If anyone is interested, I have been documenting this build and I will keep posting my progress to catch up to today.
to remove ads between posts
Jan 10, 2020, 12:45 PM
Mopar Musclecar fanatic
Welcome, your work looks great. Looking forward to see more progress.

Bob
Jan 12, 2020, 07:36 PM
Knot Obsessed
Thread OP
Thanks Bob