This thread is privately moderated by Dave Swanson, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Jan 04, 2020, 03:51 PM
AMA 32832 - SPA L27-VRCS 1138
Thread OP
Discussion

Nathan Bast Tribute

This post will be to pay tribute to my RC mentor and all around good guy Nathan Bast RIP.

Nathan was a great human and a very talented model designer/builder. He worked for Testors Corp in Rockford Illinois for a number of years. One of his projects while at Testors was the successful Freshman series of control line planes

I got to know Nathan about 1980 when as a RC newbie I started flying at the field that Nathan would frequent. Nathan immediately stuck out as a gregarious friendly person with a wonderful positive attitude. He also had his own unique brand of a sense of humor. As I got to know Nathan better I started to learn about the many RC planes he had designed for his enjoyment only.

I will profile some of his personal RC designs in this blog.

This is Nathan in what I learned was his standard pose. I am not sure why, but most every time a camera came out he would jut his arm into the air which seemed to signify - having a great time!

Last edited by Dave Swanson; Jan 04, 2020 at 03:57 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Jan 11, 2020, 09:06 AM
Thread OP

The Groover! Nathan's Masterwork!

The Groover is one of the most popular of Nathans designs among local flyers who ever saw it fly or were lucky enough to have some stick time. It is an amazing sport pattern plane! Nathan designed it to be light, strong, fast, and "groove".

Here I am with my prized Groover 4.