Jan 01, 2020, 10:27 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

Looking for advice for a new chassis

Alright, I am a complete newbie, I purchased a Mini-Z starter kit (MA020S AWD) a while ago along with a bunch of upgrade parts, and when I received it it was not working properly, it kept losing contact with the controller as soon as the car went "too far" (over 1m away from me).

I tried to get a refund but Kyosho never replied to my email.

The kit was 300$ with the car and the controller, I tried my best to troubleshoot the issue and I really tried everything I could but without any success. I started it today after about half a year of not touching it and now it seems like the steering servo died and it won't steer.

Anyway, I think I am done with Kyosho in general, I was wondering if there was a Chinese manufacturer out there that made an AWD chassis that is compatible with Kyosho's MA020S parts (like gears, axles, shafts, differentials) and that doesn't cost an arm and a leg and that is decent quality ?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
to remove ads between posts
Jan 04, 2020, 11:48 AM
Donít give up on your mini-z man! Have you tried to reset the transmitter as well as the chassis? I would try to do a full reset, then rebind the car to see if that helps.

If that doesnít work, it sounds like you have a bad board. You can get a replacement for about $45 and itís really not that hard to to install. The board is your receiver and servo all in one, so replacing it would solve your issue.

I made a video on how fully disassemble the ma-020 & remove your board, I will link it below. Donít worry about the disassembly, just follow the video, itís simple & straight forward and if you have any questions just ask.

Full Disassembly MA-020s Mini-z AWD Micro RC Car (14 min 13 sec)

Leaving a comment on the video would be the fastest way to contact me as I donít check this forum regularly.

Anyways, good luck man & I hope you sort the issue with your mini-z!