Nov 13, 2019, 08:35 AM
Thread OP
Help!

Throttle function in angle mode

Hi all,
I'm a beginner in fpv. Not much interest for now in racing, only freestyle. I built a 5" and it works fine for now, even if it is not tuned properly. I was able to fly it above the ground few times and crashed it lightly almost as many times as the takeoff. This will happen some more times until I will properly tune it and until I will learn how to fly it better. I have some decent skills in simulators (DRL), but of course, real life is harder.
What I want to do is to set a proper failsafe mode and I don't know how, here I need some help.
I configured a 3 way switch from the remote control to change flight mode. One position is angle mode, other is horizon and third is acro. I want that immediately after 'oh..well...' moment to hit the switch into angle mode, and the drone should regain horizontal position and to freeze where it is. Of course, considering the inertia, it cannot instantly freeze if it moves with 50km/h. But I have a problem with the throttle, the function remains the same throughout all modes, even if I switch to angle mode, I still have to control the throttle to prevent crashing, instead of putting it to middle and expect the drone to hold altitude (like in DJI drones for example). Is there a way to do this in betaflight? Thanks.
to remove ads between posts
Nov 13, 2019, 08:54 AM
Angle mode will only get the quad upright. There is no altitude control. That is up to you with the throttle. My advice is that you just learn to fly in acro and disarm immediately when you crash. Angle mode is not really that useful for recovering. I left angle mode set up on my mode switch just in case I lose video but I have never used it for that.
Nov 13, 2019, 08:57 AM