Thread Tools
Nov 08, 2019, 08:52 AM
Registered User
Thread OP
Discussion

How to Enable DJI FPV Goggles’ 1000/1200 mW High Power Mode


Hi guys,I find the way to change to high power mode.

First, you need prepare a microSD card. Create a Notepad file in the root directory of the microSD card and name it “naco_pwr.txt”. You can input “pwr_1” in the file to enable 1000 mW power mode, or you can input “pwr_2” to enable 1000 mW and 1200 mW power mode. Input one of the above-mentioned contents, save the file, and then exit.

Insert the SD card into the Goggles, power on and wait for about two seconds, and then you can see from the Goggles’ menu that the max power has already been enabled.

Notices:
1. This method is only available for FCC and SRRC areas, as well as for Brazil. For other areas, the Goggles should be first changed to FCC or SRRC mode.
2. The microSD card with the txt file only needs to be inserted into the DJI FPV Goggles once, and the txt file does not need to be saved in the card after the max power is successfully set.
3. If the Goggles returns to factory settings, then it will return to the normal mode, which means that “Max Power” will not be available unless re-enable.

Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Nov 08, 2019, 11:09 AM
Registered User
Wow. This actually works. I tested the temperature with my laser thermometer and it actually increases when switching to 1000 and 1200mW. Thanks for this. But I wouldn't recommend using it without keeping an eye to not overheat it.

How did you find this?

EDIT: Can you find a txt command that enables live video out from the goggles? I guess if it exists it's some sort of rtsp/udp/tcp stream out.
Last edited by d3nys; Nov 08, 2019 at 11:32 AM.
Nov 09, 2019, 10:33 AM
Registered User
This is for the new dji system to go above the 700mw?
Nov 09, 2019, 10:46 AM
Registered User
OK, what's pwr_3 do?
Nov 09, 2019, 11:03 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by aventhu
OK, what's pwr_3 do?
Nothing. I tried it immediatly after pwr_2
Nov 09, 2019, 11:35 AM
Registered User
Holy sh*t, that changes the game again.
Nov 09, 2019, 01:15 PM
Registered User
yes it works, thanks
Nov 09, 2019, 01:20 PM
Registered User
Has anyone verified the air unit can handle the extra heat dissipation?
Nov 09, 2019, 01:46 PM
Registered User
Etoby's Avatar
Name: 1200mw.jpg
Views: 554
Size: 153.8 KB
Description:
Nov 09, 2019, 01:47 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenkamm
Has anyone verified the air unit can handle the extra heat dissipation?
I flew 8 packs today with my quad at 1200mW without problems. Outside temp was 12C(54F). It definetly increased power because when I was in a spot behind trees when 700mW starts dropping bitrate I still had full bitrate when on 1200mW.
Nov 09, 2019, 01:50 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by d3nys
I flew 8 packs today with my quad at 1200mW without problems. Outside temp was 12C(54F). It definetly increased power because when I was in a spot behind trees when 700mW starts dropping bitrate I still had full bitrate when on 1200mW.
Excellent. Thanks for the reply.
Nov 09, 2019, 02:41 PM
Thread Killer
Protonus's Avatar
Thank you for this! I ran some maths, to see what this should do for range. It should improve range by 31%! Say with omni's you could go 4km before. Now you should be able to go 5.24km! Say with patches you could go 6km, now you should be able to go 7.86km! J

Maths: At 700mW we're at 28.4509804 dBm. At 1,200mW it's 30.79181246 dBm. A difference of 2.34083206 dBm. That's calculated using this: https://www.rapidtables.com/convert/...mW_to_dBm.html

To convert dBm to "times further" use this second link, which yields a result of 1.31. Just multiply 1.31 times your old range at 700 mW to get your new range at 1,200mW! Link: https://www.immersionrc.com/rf-calculators/
Nov 09, 2019, 06:28 PM
mdv
mdv
Registered User
Not sure I want to risk my goggles on this.

<edit> I guess it is risking the air unit which I will do. Can't wait to try it.
Last edited by mdv; Nov 09, 2019 at 06:36 PM.
Nov 09, 2019, 06:33 PM
Registered User
Very nice
Nov 09, 2019, 10:29 PM
Registered User
5zero7rc's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdv
Not sure I want to risk my goggles on this.

<edit> I guess it is risking the air unit which I will do. Can't wait to try it.
I would assume this increases the power output of the goggles as well. Both the goggles and the air unit are are spec'd to run at 30dBm ( 1000mw ) according to the DJI specs page. https://www.dji.com/fpv/info#specs


Quick Reply
Message:

Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion how to enable Local Data Mode inspire 1 Axefly Multirotor Drone Talk 1 Sep 26, 2017 02:01 PM
Mini-HowTo How to power your FPV Goggles from a 5V Powerbank (ft. Quanum V2 Pro) muteFPV FPV Equipment 0 Jan 20, 2017 12:42 PM
Help! How to enable Walkera Devo 7 switches for use with CleanFlight Modes MoyRC Beginner Multirotor Drones 1 Sep 26, 2016 11:42 PM
Help! How to enable Walkera Devo 7 switches for use with CleanFlight Modes MoyRC Radios 0 Sep 26, 2016 10:13 AM
Discussion 900 mhz video tx - 500 mw vs 1000 mw range kyle7119 FPV Talk 22 May 02, 2016 05:39 AM