Oct 29, 2019, 12:22 AM
Tony Audsley Retired Locksmith
Thread OP
Discussion

Depron Foam in Australia

Hi guys .. as anyone bought any 6mm Depron lately ?

I purchased a new box of Depron recently and as I had a few sheets left from my previous purchases I only open the new box today .. and to say the very least I am VERY disappointed

The Depron sheets have changed, are a lot softer and not near as strong and is also a different colour too .. if I didn't know better I would say they have bought a job lot of HK foam at $40 a box and selling it for over $200 a box

I have been using Depron to build RC model airplanes for many years and the quality (up until now) has been very consistent and very good

I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED .. what have these guys done ????

Also paid $245 for a box and after waiting for it for over 2 months .. I see they are selling it for $198.00 a box

They have offered me a full refund and I am thinking I might do just that .. trouble is, what options do we have .. if anyone in Perth has any of the old 6mm Depron they want to sell, give me a shout

Lockey
to remove ads between posts
Oct 29, 2019, 12:51 AM
If it flies - I want one!
Hi Lockey,
Our club bought several boxes of 6, 3 and 2mm several years ago, and one box of 6mm was very soft and 'pappy'. The company (in WA, from memory) sent us a replacement box of the 'good' stuff free, and I have been quietly enjoying the soft, light stock for indoor models ever since.
Our most recent purchase was last year, so don't know what they have been up to since then - the word in the UK mags is that Depron production is no more, so the local mob may have changed suppliers?
I have been nibbling at the new Vector foam from Graupner, but shipping from the UK was prohibitive (120 quid to ship cuppla boxes at 15 quid each!) and am waiting for info direct from Graupner. Apparently no viable distributor for Graupner in OZ.