Oct 19, 2019, 06:33 PM
Build more, websurf less
Thread OP
Discussion

Large Foamboard Wing

I want to make a 90 inch wingspan airplane out of foamboard insulation. I was thinking of making a Jedelsky style airfoil that should be stronger and stiffer than a simple flat plate wing. I do not want to make a KFM type of airfoil.

To test the idea I made a wing section using 1 inch thick foamboard. I cut three pieces and beveled the long edges. Used white Gorilla glue to fasten them together. In the final design I would make the wing from three panels each 30 inches long for total of 90 inches. The chord is about 16 inches.

The result was a very stiff and strong panel. I think that 3/4" thick foamboard would suffice. However, I have no experience with the Jedelsky airfoil performance.

What experiences or opinions about this type of wing design can you offer?

Thanks,

Paul
to remove ads between posts
Oct 19, 2019, 08:33 PM
Build, crash...repeat
A “folded” airfoil should be pretty strong and have a lot of lift but I would still use a wooden or carbon spar at least for the inner third or so
Oct 19, 2019, 10:34 PM
IMO ( In My Opinion ) →
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyingW
I want to make a 90 inch wingspan airplane out of foamboard insulation. I was thinking of making a Jedelsky style airfoil that should be stronger and stiffer than a simple flat plate wing. I do not want to make a KFM type of airfoil.

To test the idea I made a wing section using 1 inch thick foamboard. I cut three pieces and beveled the long edges. Used white Gorilla glue to fasten them together. In the final design I would make the wing from three panels each 30 inches long for total of 90 inches. The chord is about 16 inches.

The result was a very stiff and strong panel. I think that 3/4" thick foamboard would suffice. However, I have no experience with the Jedelsky airfoil performance.

What experiences or opinions about this type of wing design can you offer?

Thanks,

Paul