Oct 17, 2019, 06:45 PM
new to the sport
Thread OP
Build Log

Ridge Rat - old school design, new school tweak

Hi Phil here from Wellington, New Zealand.

I was inspired by a fellow scratch builder over at the flitetest forum to build a Ridge Rat

I am new to sloping but these ships are cool and I wanted to get in on the action. The aerofoil is updated to an MH32, and the nose is longer, but otherwise, it kinda follows the original version. I am also using a braided CF sleeve for the fuse and am 3D printing the wing!

this will be a bit of a catch up to where I am at currently!

the design
to remove ads between posts
Oct 17, 2019, 06:49 PM
new to the sport
Thread OP
the fuse has a green foam inner with a braided CG skin. I inserted a push rod sleeve up the centre for the horizontal stabiliser (no rudder. bank and yank), and then epoxied the sleeve wrapping it with cling film - worked way better than expected!
Oct 17, 2019, 06:51 PM
new to the sport
Thread OP
The wing halves have 1 deg dihedral, and the design is based on PLA and is 3D printed with two 3mm x1mm carbon flats to help with rigidity.
Oct 17, 2019, 07:12 PM
new to the sport
Thread OP
Next came the tail feathers and I opted for 2mm balsa with carbon tow and FG skin. I am all new to this so it was trial and error, but they came out amazingly stiff compared to the balsa on it's own.
Oct 17, 2019, 07:16 PM
new to the sport
Thread OP
I have this little technique for making hinges with micro cable ties. I 'V' them in the middle with a cold chisel and glue them into the wing or stabilisers - the cable ties work well and bend forever!
Oct 17, 2019, 07:18 PM
As I recall, the original Ridgie had a fat fuselage to accommodate the period correct servos. Bashers used to thin the fuselage, once smaller servos came to be.

Was going to suggest you do the same,...but looks like you are pretty far into it already
Oct 17, 2019, 07:22 PM
new to the sport
Thread OP