My First Crawler, Axial 1/10 SCX10 II

We have helped spread the RC crawler addiction to RCGroups user nhk750! Here is his post on getting going in the RC rock crawler world!!

Splash

FPV Rock Crawler

I got inspired by Jim T and Jason Cole and decided to try a crawler. My back yard is 1/4 acre and a big hill, so perfect for rock crawling and messing around. I'm also going to slap some fpv gear on it. After much research, I decided to build my own rig from the Axial 1/10 SCX10 II builders kit as it has a 15% discount this week and I already have a Spektrum surface transmitter with telemetry and 20 model memory (Spektrum DX5C SMART 5CH DSMR Transmitter with 6100 SPM5120) used for my boats. It is really hard to find any rc vehicles that are not RTR, crazy, I don't need any more radios! I'm getting the Axial jeep body and then will accumulate parts along the way. I'm new to this side of the hobby, but can anyone point me in the direction of other SC10 II users build threads or advice on parts? Thanks, I will also search around here some more but haven't found much so far.

Last edited by Jim T. Graham; Nov 05, 2019 at 08:40 AM..
Oct 21, 2019, 08:08 PM
Thread OP
I'm looking at this motor and ESC combo.
Castle Creations Mamba X 25.2V WP ESC 1406-2850Kv Sensored Combo, CSE010015510
It's Castle Creations motor and ESC, so from what I can find this is good quality stuff? At least for airplanes it works great...
Oct 25, 2019, 12:35 PM
Thread OP
Just picked up these INJORA 1.9 Beadlock Wheels Rims on Amazon and they went together easily plus look great along with some Goodyear MT/R tires. I have too many hobbies now, but this crawler hobby is pretty cool, like building a miniature truck, plus an easy distraction from building airplanes and boats...It will be fun to play cars with my nephew when I get it done too.
Oct 29, 2019, 11:30 AM
ChrisG does 3D!
I just ordered one of these myself. Looking forward to the build.

I went with a very basic brushed motor setup.