Oct 15, 2019, 02:09 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

nitrate dope on balsa filler

Hello, I'm new to the RC hobby, I'm building the SIG Kadett MkII. I'm doing well with the construction, it's a lot like a wooden boat's construction. Right now I've got the wing built and most of the fuselage. I want to finish my plane as I recall watching older guys build them in the 50's- covering the wing with silk or fabric vs. plastic, and using dope. The hobby shops around here tell me everyone uses plastic now and nobody carries dope in CA but I have ordered some nitrate dope from Brodak and it's on the way.
On the wing I used a lot of the one-part "balsa filler" from the hobby shop. It's a dihedral wing and it came out pretty good except for some "uneveness" where the two wing halves meet on top, as well as other areas on the wing, where I used some filler to fair the surfaces. At this point I'm anticipating doing several coats of nitrate dope, sanding between coats, as well as filling uneven areas between coats with the balsa filler.
I am wondering - will it work painting the nitrate dope over the "balsa-filler" filled in areas? also, will the balsa filler work over the nitrate dope-painted areas. As I go thru the process of sanding, filling and painting to get a nice faired surface, will the nitrate be ok on the balsa filler and vice-versa?
I'm planning on clear butyrate dope once the wing is covered, but that's a bit off yet. Still don't know what to cover with but I hope to avoid having to use an iron or heat gun.
Thanks a whole lot for any advice! Bob
to remove ads between posts
Oct 15, 2019, 03:57 PM
I have used nitrate dope over filler without any problems. I am not sure why you would be alternation between filler and dope. Thick build up of filler is not desirable. If you were making some kind of fillet, you should be using an epoxy product. There are areas like this on a Kadet.