Sep 19, 2019, 07:17 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

New Transmitter. Which way do i go?

Hi everyone, I'm new to the multi rotor scene after after many years of flying planes. My radio of choice is a JR X9303 with a Frsky DJT module.....Now that I'm moving into drones i need a radio thats better suited to multi rotor and FPV flying.
I love my JR so much I'm thinking of just swaping to the Frsky XJT module to take advantage of X series recievers with SBus and use OSD instead of full Frsky telemetry. Will i regret this decision? Or should i buy a Frsky Taranis plus instead and ditch my trusty JR? The Taranis looks exactly like the JR X9303 so i assume it feels the same? No?
.......Cheers.
to remove ads between posts
Sep 19, 2019, 09:36 PM
Your JR is fine. I have two of those and I still use them with a Spektrum module. Your idea to get the XJT module is a good one as you do want to use the X series receivers for quads. I prefer the R-XSR. The only downsides to sticking with your JR is that you will not have telemetry or voice warnings like you get from the Taranis but with a good OSD setup you have the necessary info like battery voltage and RSSI. The Taranis plus does feel very much like the X9303. The case is extremely similar. You might consider just moving to the Taranis and put the money you would have spent on the module toward that.
Sep 20, 2019, 09:15 AM
This is a question I have also. I know for me I am looking for someone to just tell me what is best. Then you get all kinds of answers why whoevers radio is the best, and they are all valid. That's the beauty of this question. I have a Futaba 10J and although it can control, it can only be used with Futaba receivers. Also no USB. I see all this BNF stuff I would like to get, but I can't use my radio. I was looking at a Taranis QX7. I would like to see everyone say this is the best radio, so I can buy it.
Sep 20, 2019, 10:51 AM