Sep 17, 2019, 02:04 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

Kit # 2002 B-17 Flying Fortress RC Conversion

Hi all,
I am having trouble getting my blog going. I am building a Guillows B-17 Flying Fortress (Kit # 2002). I plan to convert it to RC.

I have not heard anything from anyone. Iím hoping to hear from you all, and am looking forward to learning a thing or two from you all.

The link to my RC Group Blog is as follows:
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/member.php?u=798195

It is a bit strange, I see a lot of views but get no responses.

I hope to get this figured out but will need some help!

v/r

-CaptJK
to remove ads between posts
Sep 17, 2019, 02:30 PM
I’m no expert, but since its planked you may need to get a weight with the servos and rx in it, maybe even with covering and paint
That way the power experts can give you some hints on what motors you will need
It will probably fly like a racer with the extra weight of the planked fuselage.
Sep 18, 2019, 02:39 PM
Retired and Lovin' it!
Capt, it has been my experience that folks don't respond on blogs, whereas they are much more prolific on a build log. I have no idea why this is but it seems to be the case. Try starting a build log and see if that gets you more responses.

Tony
Sep 18, 2019, 03:33 PM
Thread OP
Jonquinn,
Iíve got time and would consider that. My goal is to learn from everyone through interaction via the blog.

I experienced an injury requiring surgery, and this model has been something that has helped to regain fine motor skills. Iím having fun with it, put a lot of these together as a kid.

My idea is to plank the leading and trailing edges of the wings as well. A lot of weight was sanded off with the fuselage post planking. Iíve been reading a lot of the B-17 build logs and have created my ďbuild planĒ learning from their successes.

Itís been fun, sort of like detective work. It doesnít beat interaction though.