Sep 13, 2019, 05:31 AM
Need more speed!
Thread OP
Discussion

Great Planes Super Chipmunk - Need more power!

I picked up a used Great Planes Super Chipmunk (81" wingspan) with a Saito 100 twin in it. I'm guessing they picked the engine because it fits under the cowl, which is very nice. However, it makes barely enough power to fly this bird.

I've heard a DLE20 is a good fit, but I'm thinking about getting a RCGF26 BM in order to get a little more power. Has anyone run the Chipmunk with an RCGF26? Any other suggestions?
to remove ads between posts
Sep 13, 2019, 07:02 AM
Build a scale plane already!!!
I'd go 30 to 35cc gas
Sep 13, 2019, 07:40 AM
Need more speed!
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by scale_only
I'd go 30 to 35cc gas
I'm asking because I'm fairly new to choosing engines for IC planes, but why do you think it needs a 30CC? Isn't a DLE20 more power than the recommended engines for the airplane?
Sep 13, 2019, 05:39 PM
I have to agree with Scale on this one. The DLE 20 and RCGF 26 are roughly the same power as a good 1.2 two stroke glow engine. For a gas engine I would be looking at a DLE 35RA.
Sep 14, 2019, 05:45 AM
Need more speed!
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by exf3bguy
I have to agree with Scale on this one. The DLE 20 and RCGF 26 are roughly the same power as a good 1.2 two stroke glow engine. For a gas engine I would be looking at a DLE 35RA.
Would this be "unlimited vertical" power?
Sep 14, 2019, 09:08 AM
I don't know what this plane weighs or what it's wing area is, so I'm shy about predicting it's performance with either size engine.

A 20 will have unlimited vertical under 10lbs or so. A 30-35 will go 12-13lbs pretty easily.

The RCGF 26cc beam mount will swing an 18x6 with authority, so in some planes it thinks it's a 30. A light weight 30.