Sep 11, 2019, 10:19 AM
Thread OP
Question

Soldering thin wires to esc without play

Hi All

I had a mishap the other day with my ESC. I had soldered the motor wires directly onto the ESC. The wires had quite a bit of play on the ESC pads but I had kept it this way and flew with that for several flights.
I put ESC-motor in a new plane and this time I decided to apply a little bit of hot glue over the solder connections on the ESC to reduce the play. Anyways after a full throttle test this is how it ended up (long story short)...

I guess I have a couple of questions now...

My skill level with soldering is this... I can solder wires and I have seen tutorials on YouTube but I am by no means an expert.

How do I correctly go about soldering when the wire sizes are different between the ESC and motor?

In an effort to save weight if I were to wire up anESC to the motor directly how do prevent the play on thin wires connected to ESC pads?

Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Last edited by dropout; Sep 11, 2019 at 11:37 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Sep 11, 2019, 10:20 AM
Just copy and paste

Neither link works for me
Sep 11, 2019, 11:38 AM
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by John61CT
Just copy and paste

Neither link works for me

I just copied and pasted now. Please have a look. TIA

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Sep 11, 2019, 12:28 PM
Are you talking about splicing the leads to the motor, or soldering the motor leads directly to the PCB?

To prevent play, you always fixture things. You've seen those multi-alligator clips holders? Get one. It'll pay for itself really quick.

Andy
Sep 12, 2019, 10:56 AM
Soldering is a skill that can be learned at any age.

The rules are pretty simple: