Thread Tools
Sep 10, 2019, 08:12 PM
Registered User
Thread OP
Discussion

No blinken, no beeps in BRUSHED system


I bought a 2m built-up Mini Challenger glider w/o ailerons.
https://brodak.com/electric-kits/min...ectric-rc.html
It has a Speed-400 brushed motor and a JETI JES-250 ESC.
Here's the super-new-radio from Spektrum: https://store.flitetest.com/spektrum...mar410/p795444
I've tried the line from the ESC in the Battery line, line 1/DATA and in line 2, plugged in both ways (when it cooperates).
I'm using an E-flite 3S LiPo (12V).

When I plug everything in nothing happens.
I'd be very grateful for some knowedgeable help as it's my last chance for a flite this year!
Thanks,
Peter
Last edited by chatt; Sep 10, 2019 at 10:29 PM. Reason: typo
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Sep 10, 2019, 08:20 PM
Registered User
Thread OP
Usually I try it with the TX turned ON.
I don't have any other servo lines connected yet.
Sep 10, 2019, 10:19 PM
The Other Side of Your Screen
SilverSport's Avatar
They made Brushed OutRunner motors?

I have only been back in hobby for 5 years, but was in and glow about the time the speed 400 brushed motors were in use.

As for the Rx, I haven't done a bind with that model yet, have one waiting for a project though.
Sep 10, 2019, 10:31 PM
Registered User
Thread OP
Do you remember the beeping?
Does it have anything to do with the TX being on?
Sep 11, 2019, 08:10 AM
I'd rather be Flying
davecee's Avatar
Have you bound the receiver?
Sep 11, 2019, 09:13 AM
Registered User
Thread OP
I tried binding it, but I've never done it before (it's my first computerized radio) so I didn't know what I was doing, thanks to those wretched Spektrum manuals.

Eventually I figured out that a basic problem with the ESC would explain everything best but the thing is so basic I need help. There's no website page for it, it doesn't have any LEDs and the lack of beeps can be anything or nothing as far as I'm concerned.

So if I say No, I haven't bound the RX I'm pretty sure I'm right but it's not for want of trying.
Last edited by chatt; Sep 11, 2019 at 10:55 PM.
Sep 11, 2019, 10:31 AM
I'd rather be Flying
davecee's Avatar
The instructions for binding that receiver are pretty simple. I've got the 4 channel and the 6 channel with no external antennas, No problems noted.
https://www.horizonhobby.com/pdf/SPMAR410-Manual-EN.pdf

Quote:
1. Push and hold the bind button on the receiver while powering up the
receiver. Release the Bind button once the orange LED starts to fl ash
continuously, indicating that the receiver is in bind mode. The receiver will
also enter bind mode if you power on the receiver and then press the bind
button before the receiver has connected to any transmitter.
2. Put your transmitter in bind mode.
3. The bind process is complete when the orange LED on the receiver is solid.
Sep 11, 2019, 01:13 PM
An itch?. Scratch build.
eflightray's Avatar
I've never known a brushed system to 'beep', they are very different to a brushless system.

You quote -"I've tried the line from the ESC in the Battery line, line 1/DATA and in line 2, plugged in both ways (when it cooperates)."

That has me a little confused ?, (a usual thing). Correction: I see you were referring to the Rx channels

The ESC to battery has to be +ive (red) to +ive (red) and -ive (black) to -ive (black).

If you connect them the other way round the 'magic smoke' often escapes and a very high chance of killing the ESC.

First make sure the prop isn't fitted
If the ESC has the switch fitted, make sure it is in the on position.
If you have a multi-meter measure there is 5v on the ESC to Rx connecter, +ive in the middle and -ive on one of the outer wires. (not sure what color leads Jeti use).
If you do have 5v. plug the lead into the throttle channel.
Do the servos move ?, does the throttle work ?

.
Last edited by eflightray; Sep 11, 2019 at 01:30 PM.
Sep 11, 2019, 02:39 PM
Registered User
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by eflightray
If you do have 5v. plug the lead into the throttle channel.
.
I don't see any throttle channel, just the ones I mentioned.
Sep 11, 2019, 04:00 PM
homo ludens modellisticus
Ron van Sommeren's Avatar
Try to get your servos working first, then the controller.
Check whether BEC is working correctly, measure voltage, 5volt.
You have to connect the controller to power Rx and servos though. All Rx outputs are the same 'throttle', 'aileron', etc. are just fancy names. It doesn't matter what output you use for your ESC. Internally all plus pins and all minus pins are connected.

Vriendelijke groeten Ron
Sep 11, 2019, 06:10 PM
Registered User
Thread OP
Quote:
"Push and hold the bind button on the receiver while powering up the
receiver. Release the Bind button once the orange LED starts to flash
continuously, indicating that the receiver is in bind mode."

What I did:
TX is OFF
RX spst sw = OFF, i.e. against the RED dot
only the ESC connectors are connected to the RX in the Battery line
connected pwr to the ESC
push and hold the bind button on the receiver
RX spst sw = ON
What happened:
NOTHING
Repeat with RX spst sw the other way around

Would you agree with this:
[The bind button]
is very good Plug in battery hit the button and it is in bind mode
-richard hanson
"...allowing you to bind while powering up or after receiver power is connected."
https://store.flitetest.com/spektrum...mar410/p795444
Last edited by chatt; Sep 11, 2019 at 06:44 PM.
Sep 11, 2019, 07:07 PM
Registered User
Thread OP
https://www.google.com/search?client...ifly+cellmatch
I use this on the LiPo.
I thought of trying it on the ESC output and it read NOTHING.
I've got a mini-multimeter and couldn't get it to show anything either.
CONCLUSION: the ESC is garbage
BUT: what do I know?
Sep 12, 2019, 12:04 AM
The Other Side of Your Screen
SilverSport's Avatar
Most of the time I am binding a new Rx to my DX8g2 I connect a 4xAA pack with a servo plug to power the Rx. I will also use that to center all the servo arms and setup the aircraft. If the plane or heli is a Bind and Fly, I assume they got it right at the factory and use a lipo connected to the ESC, unless it is something like the BNF V900 that ESC was not connected on either end.

That takes one item out of the troubleshooting loop.
Sep 12, 2019, 05:18 AM
An itch?. Scratch build.
eflightray's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by chatt
I don't see any throttle channel, just the ones I mentioned.
I don't know that Rx. But if it is one where you have to define (programme) what Rx channel does what from your Tx, then the ESC/BEC lead needs to be in the one defined for throttle.

.
Sep 12, 2019, 12:46 PM
The Other Side of Your Screen
SilverSport's Avatar
The problem with these new antenna less Spek Rx's is they don't label them with THR AIL ELEV RUDD GEAR AUX1, ect. like all of the ones we have been using for a number of years, They are just numbers BATT 1/DATA 2 3 4 5 6 ... so it is somewhat confusing especially since the manual does not help with a standard channel assignment listing for Spek TX's.


Quick Reply
Message:

Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion No blinken, no beeps in brushless system chatt Power Systems 0 Sep 10, 2019 07:38 PM
Help! SP Racing F3 AIO brushed no switch in BF Rx tab flyngobanana Scratchbuilt Multirotor Drones 0 May 14, 2017 08:24 AM
Help! Turnigy 20A BRUSHED ESC - No beep?? TheEwook Electric Plane Talk 5 Oct 27, 2015 08:07 AM
New Product Mercury Adhesvies NEW Brush-in-Cap Threadlocker for a NO MESS Application! MercuryAdhesives Product Announcements 0 Oct 13, 2015 11:36 AM
Discussion No Beep Beep Beep Ryalman Electric Plane Talk 12 Oct 29, 2012 06:54 PM