Sep 02, 2019, 12:57 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

What is the best 3D printer for making RC planes?

Here's my question...what is the best printer for making RC planes? Now I understand there are several factors to take into account here. Price, ease of use, quality of the finished product, time it takes to finish a plane, and so on. I am new to this whole 3d printer thing. However I'd like to get into it. So my question is...what is the best bang for your buck so to speak? What printer is the easiest ( user friendly) to use? What printer has the smoothest finish? What printer prints the lightest finished product? Another question I have is...what if someone wanted to print smaller planes, micro rc planes so to speak? What would be the best choice? Sorry for the twenty questions but I'd rather chat with people that know what they are talking about instead of spending a small fortune ( That I dont have ) for something I won't be able to use. Thank you in advance, John.
to remove ads between posts
Sep 02, 2019, 02:30 PM
Creality CR-10
Latest blog entry: Assembling a Spandau kit.
Sep 02, 2019, 08:08 PM
There are many 3d printers to choose from. The Creality CR-10 is actually a good first choice for bang for buck though. You don't want to spend a fortune only to discover you don't actually like the fiddling involved in making it go.

Smoothest finish (additive type printer), easy to use, but not cheap: LulzBot Taz 6.
Very large build volume, good quality components: Formbot T-Rex 3

I use my T-Rex more than any other ... But would still recommend starting out with a Creality. As I said, you really want to make sure you actually want to use it before dropping a ton of money on something.

Lightest end product: That's something that has more to do with filament and settings than anything else. Plan to spend some time (and filament, which costs money) getting settings just right.