Aug 27, 2019, 08:13 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

New 3.0m F5j SynerJ wings - heading for bagging.

I've cut the cores for wings and will be bagging the first centre section this weekend I hope. Plan is to use 80GSM spread tow and additional reinforcement and to see how it turns out. Vacuum pump is working well and I've created build tables from 20mm mdf screwed down to 50x25 alloy extrusion to keep them flat. I'm going to lash out and buy some LFT for bagging and a proper vacuum port, unless I can think of an alternative. Even with CNC cutter, doing five sets of cores took a full day!
I'll try and remember all I have learned on this forum.
to remove ads between posts
Aug 28, 2019, 10:26 PM
pnc
pnc
So sweet to see ...

Looking forward to this thread

Pete
Sep 03, 2019, 08:36 AM
Barney Fife, Vigilante
Take.... many.... pictures....
Sep 03, 2019, 02:15 PM
I'm in! Take a lot of Pics and POST,POST,POST

Steve
Sep 06, 2019, 02:31 AM
Thread OP
I'm just a beginner at this, but happy to take pics.
Sep 11, 2019, 08:32 PM
Thread OP
I hope that these make sense. Wing joiners, tubes etc getting let into the cores. Sub-rib further out to help spread to load to the skins. Layup will also be structured to spread the loads. We're not making much attempt to keep the weight down - local conditions are usually quite windy and this will be our first high-performance glider - so extra strength seems a good idea.
Also spread-tow CF with patterns 3m77's to it. This is 'cheap' chinese spread tow - I would not buy it again. The weave is quite open and loose.
Sep 11, 2019, 10:57 PM
Thread OP
Braced root rib further:
Sep 12, 2019, 04:17 AM
Thread OP