Feb 23, 2005, 01:44 AM
Thread OP
Rave

First post and first AP

I've been reading this forum for awhile now and decided I would finally join in. I'm still fairly new to R/C airplanes in general. I started with a Wingo Porter (the discontinued twin motor Wingo) in 2002 and actually flew it with a 900MHz video downlink I bought from a security company. I got some cool videos on a couple flights till the video tx died for some reason, probably overheated since I was flying in 100+ degree heat. Anyways, I flew the plane a few more times and then it was sidelined because of other projects. I just recently got back into r/c with a glow powered Hobbico Nexstar. Well I got the AP bug again and so I constructed a camera box out of plywood, dropped in my Optio S5i held in place with receiver foam, and sent it up this past weekend. Now I know from everyone's experiences here that AP is really best suited to electrics, but suprisingly I got a few clear shots. I would have more but a few flights in I started experiencing engine problems aka deadstick practice, so I took the cam off. By the way, the green landscape you see is very unusual for this part of So Cal. It really is supposed to be a desert! We've gotten more rain in the last month than we usually get all year.
to remove ads between posts
Feb 23, 2005, 02:55 AM
Those are very nice for your first shots. You would love a Slow Stick.
Feb 23, 2005, 05:16 AM
No Guts No Glory

NIce Pics

Nice Pics TIme to go electric... Electric and AP are a very good mix. Almost no restrictions to were you can fly and very vibration free platforms for ap.

Is that green "thing" in picture 2 an other rc plane? And that circle on the field, thoes tracks do they have any meaning?
Feb 23, 2005, 12:13 PM
That is strange seeing all that green in the desert. For some reason it does look unnatural! Nice firsts!

Matt
Feb 23, 2005, 03:48 PM
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by kestrel2003