Aug 26, 2019, 06:59 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

Newbie Second flight help

So I received a Dynam Primo for free and got everything working correctly. Took off for my first flight, probably a bit to windy, 1st mistake. Was able to get it flying , but I think I was using to much stick in turns and banking to sharp, than over compensating to get it back to level, total newbie move I know.

Would it be ok to turn the throw down on the ailerons so that if I do push to much stick I won't crash, which I almost did quit a few times. But I managed to land ok without breaking anything, So I guess you could call it a success.

Or maybe it was just to windy for my first flight?

There is no place close by to get training.

So I'm on my own.

I have flown small park flyers and little bit of experience with 400 size electric heli's. And I have 2 drones.

Any Tips would be very helpful.

Thanks,
to remove ads between posts
Aug 26, 2019, 08:14 AM
You covered the main point, - don't fly when it's too windy.

Does your transmitter have 'rate' switches ?, if so that's the best place to reduce the control throws, not mechanically on the plane, unless the transmitter has no rates switches.

Aug 26, 2019, 09:12 AM
Thread OP
Yes it does have rates. So I will reduce them some.

Thanks, jjp
Aug 26, 2019, 09:53 AM
IMO ( In My Opinion ) →
Yes , for beginners : calm conditions are best . In most places , the best chance for calm conditions are at sun-up .

Also , if your transmitter has expo : program some expo into the control surfaces .... especially ailerons . Expo will soften the control surface response from the stick movements .

And if you haven't already done so , practice on an RC simulator . RC hobby shops will often have demo sims that you can try , or you can get free sims for PC . You can also get free sim apps for touchscreen mobile devices .
Aug 27, 2019, 03:38 PM
B for Bruce