Aug 18, 2019, 11:28 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

DPR Models Rare Bird

All,

I have started building the re-released vesrion of the DPR Models' Rare Bird. The original kit that I had i the early 80's I remember it flying very well (i.e. it was stable) inspite of my very dodgy building and covering.

The re-released kit benefits from really good laser cutting and wood selection; the kit is also very complete so it make a good choice for the absolute novice. Consequently this model is going together extremely quickly.

My plan is to build it as a 2 channel radio model to aid its trimming and then pull out the reciever and replace it with a Dens Models' E-Zee servo operated DT unit. I don''t expect it to compete with a Kiel Kraft Caprice, but it might prove to be a bit more versatile.

Anyone else had a go at this one yet?
to remove ads between posts
Aug 26, 2019, 01:58 PM
Thread OP

Built as standard - now ready for RC Modifications

All,

Here is the uncovered airframe built as kitted. I will shortly be modifying the tail-plane act as stabilators and the rudder will be hinged (probably Blenderm tape.

Weights so far are:
47g for the unballasted uncovered airframe;
78g for the uncovered airframe plus radio gear and CF push-rods and plastic outer.

It took all of the radio gear up front to get the recommended C of G position on the rear wing spar, so apart from the inclusion of the push-rods and the stabilator mechanism and the additional nose ballast AUP would be same as if it were left as intended.

One feature I think that the kit would benefit from is auto-rudder along the lines of that used in a KK Caprice.
Sep 24, 2019, 04:57 PM
Thread OP

Working on the AFT

Still working on the stabilator mechanism.

Since the model is very tail heavy in standard guise, I am trying to keep the tail end as light as possible. Key points are;
1. 4mm OD, 3mm ID carbon tube stabilator joiner rigidly glued to each stabilator.