Aug 16, 2019, 06:22 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

DLG bug has bitten...

So, I was at the LHS the other day and I came across the Horizon Hobbies UMX Whipit DLG glider.

For $70, I couldn't pass it up, and I have been having a BLAST chucking that thing around my field and sloping (with what little lift I'm able to pick up on my gentle hill at the field LOL).

Now that I've gotten somewhat proficient at it, I've been contemplating upping my game a little bit and diving into a 1.5m DLG, and I'm looking for recommendations.

Bit of background - I've been a fixed wing pilot for about 3 years now, flying single and twin engine cruisers as well as doing FPV quads, so this was just another avenue for RC flight for me.

So, with that in mind, I'm looking to dip into the DLG world and see about buying one without spending a HUGE chunk of change, and keep it simple for me. Anyone have any suggestions of kits they can point me to? I'd also prefer something that's here in the US because of the tariffs and shipping costs, but if that's where I have to go to keep something in say, sub $700, then so be it (and maybe I'm asking a lot there, I don't know - please correct me if it's not possible to hit that budget!)

I know they can be expensive, but I'm still learning to find the thermals, so I don't want to invest a TON of money into it quite yet. Is there anything that would fit my learning curve and budget?
to remove ads between posts
Aug 16, 2019, 07:41 PM
Welcome the this section of the hobbie!

A great way to start out in the composite dlgs, is to skim thru the sailplane classifieds section theres usually a couple for sale down there.
Also its a good adea to find a few local dlg pilots to fly with they will help get you launching and thermaling in no time! They will also help you tweek your setup to perfection.

Hope this helps and Good luck!
Last edited by sparrow1; Aug 16, 2019 at 07:47 PM.
Aug 16, 2019, 08:34 PM