Aug 14, 2019, 11:45 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

Affordable balsa or kit DLG that I'm missing?

Hey folks,

My background is flying mostly slope for many years starting about 24 years ago, with some thermal thrown in, and a couple electrics (back when the batteries were lead bricks and a 6 minute flight time was pretty good!). I kind of got out of flying during and after college and pursued other hobbies like guitar building, but now I'm getting the bug again. I also live near some great open fields that seem like they would have some decent thermals.

I've done a decent amount of research trying to find a fun and affordable DLG, but I'm still having trouble finding what I want. I really don't mind building, I kind of prefer it actually. Here's what I want:

-A kit that has either full balsa built up wings, or foam core/balsa sheeted wings. I don't want to deal with vacuum bagging quite yet.
-Less than $200
-1.5 m
-Ailerons and Elevator, not polyhedral with rudder/elevator
- Doesn't need a fancy radio, I don't want to deal with crazy programming.
-Can launch well enough to make small thermal catching pretty common. (I know this has alot to do with skill, but you know what I mean?)
-Somewhat durable

Is there something like this out there? For the cost I'm tempted to go with the Libelle (plus I know Michael from flying about 20 years ago, and he's a great dude), but I kind of want something that can penetrate a bit better, with a stiffer non-foamy structure. Thanks for any leads!

Dan
to remove ads between posts
Aug 14, 2019, 12:02 PM
I know you said you wanted balsa / built up or foam sheeted kit for 200.00 or less- are you including the building materials / glue /. Covering - and radio gear ( servos / receiver / battery?

If you budget is 200.00 all up ready to fly -less radio- I would tell you to save your money for a used contest ship.

A used contest ship is the best way to get into DLG and maximize your success and enjoyment .