Aug 08, 2019, 09:47 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

New guy needs help with Sterling Corvette

Greetings all. Not new to hobbies (I have dabbled in everything from slot cars to electric trains to steam engines to pinball machines) however I am a novice when it comes to R/C . I had always wanted a vintage R/C wooden boat to play around with and now that I'm retired and living near the water I figured it's as good as time as any.
I spotted this vintage-built Sterling Corvette with old tube type radio gear and Pittman Panther motors and fell in love.

I am completely unfamiliar with the way these operated but it seems by studying the wiring that the receiver must have been 2-channel and controlled both the steering and throttle. The electric motor setup which controls the rudders is quite intriguing and seems to incorporate some type of ratchet mechanism. While I love the nostalgia associated with all this old equipment I'm guessing that it would be impractical to try and find a matching transmitter run it this way today.

If at all possible I would like to preserve the originality and leave all or most of the original running gear and radio gear intact while retrofitting a modern motor control and (1/4 scale?) servo for rudder control that will override it.

The Pittman Super Panther motors are designed to run on 3-6 volts. There are various old dry cell battery holders in place for the radio gear and lights as well as a wood framed pocket that used to hold some type of large battery approx 4" square and utilizing the 9-volt battery style clips.

What would be a suitable modern power supply/battery that could operate both the 3-6 volt Pittman motors as well as the receiver and servo ? What about the new radio and receiver. Seems maybe a single 1/4 scale servo would be good for rudder control. What about a motor controller? How many channels ? Do I control both motors in tandem or individually ? Is reverse necessary ?