Aug 05, 2019, 06:54 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

Can Post Cure Cause Delaminations?

Took center section out of the bag (in the bag 20 hours at 25C) and moved it to my Ďhot boxí. The Ďhot boxí is the bed of my pickup truck which is at 55-60C. Left it there for about 2 hours - until an impending thunderstorm dropped the temperatures.

When removing the mylar, I find 4 locations where there are delaminations; 2 of them are rather large at about 20 cm2.
I did a fairly wet layup and the outside is completely smooth. The bag was fully pulled down (~22in Hg) throughout the initial cure.

Iíve never experienced this type of delamination before, and it is my first time doing a post-cure. Are the two related?

Regarding repair....the center section looks great otherwise so Iím going to repair it. My thoughts for this are:
1 - cut out the flaps, which will cut through all the delaminations . Use a syringe to inject epoxy and weight it down while it cures.
2 - poke holes through the wing skin and inject epoxy. Rebag the wing while the epoxy cures.
3 - slice through the lamination, apply epoxy underneath, and then add another layer of carbon as reinforcement.

#1 is my first choice. Any other suggestions?

Thanks,
-Keith
to remove ads between posts
Aug 06, 2019, 06:42 AM
Barney Fife, Vigilante
Pictures....

Some thoughts:

1. Vacuum pressure and bleeder effectiveness... I know you've done other wings before but is it possible you had a section of the wing that sealed itself off from vacuum?

2. I assume since the hingeline will go through all the delams that they're all near the kink in the airfoil. If they're all on the top surface see #1 above since strong vacuum is required to pull down the mylars there.

3. If the delams are on the bottom surface, is there something you added to the layup to facilitate hinging (kevlar, polyester, etc) and if so, have you used it before and are you sure it's sufficiently epoxy bondable?